You’re So Vain: Too Dolly

26 Aug

Sooo I decided to pull out an oldie but goodie, the MAC Too Dolly Palette from 2009’s Hello Kitty Collection.  I pulled up a tutorial on my trusted YouTube and set out to re-create, but it just wasn’t working because the chick in the video and my model were on complete opposite sides of the spectrum, complexion wise that is, so it was just not working out!

The look ended up being straight freestyle and I’m quite pleased with the way it came out… I’m calling this look “Too Dolly.”

And here’s the palatte…

When I found out about this line, I damn near went ape shit!  At this point I was really getting into make-up and was already a Hello Kitty freak!  The thought of the two brands merging was music to my ears.  I didn’t know exactly what to expect, but I knew I wasn’t going to be disappointed.  Then I saw the packaging and #DIED!

Look at those colors!  There were two palettes in this collection, but of course I had to get the one with pink in it!  This was also my very first MAC palette.

As I stated, I was really just getting deep into makeup, (I always loved playing in makeup, but the obsession hadn’t develop until this point), so as far as I knew what you saw, was what you got.  NOPE!  These colors were pretty sheer as you can see, and back then I didn’t know anything about primers and bases, so I stayed frustrated trying to get the intensity I saw in the pan on my eyes!

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t regret purchasing the palette!  As a matter of fact, if the opportunity presented itself, I’d buy it again, along with the other one, which was called, “Lucky Tom.”  As you see in the pic above, I used a white base underneath the shadows and voila!… we have intensity!

I figured while I’m on the topic, I might as well show the rest of the items I picked up from the collection.  I was SO pleased with myself! LOL

Top Row: Hello Kitty Double Sided Mirror and Too Dolly Eyeshadow Palette
Bottom Row: On The Prowl Nail Polish, Something About Pink Nail Polish, Strayin’ Lipstick, and Popster Lip Conditioner

As I’m sure you can imagine, now 3 years later, I’m kicking myself in the ass because there is SO much more I wish I got!  More lippies, some of the lip glasses, blushes, etc.  But like I said, I was only beginning my collection back then, and had no idea how deep into this makeup world I was going to go!

Now of course I could always hit up eBay and purchase most of these items for 10x’s their worth, but it ain’t that serious.  One thing I’ve learned over the years is that MAC tends to repremote a LOT of their items, especially the ones that go on to cult fave classic status.  In the mean time, I hope to run into one or two of the items when and if I EVER make it into a CCO.

Here is a swatch of Strayin’ Lipstick and Popster Lip Conditioner.

Oh!  Let me not forget the beloved cosmetic bag!

Lata Lovah’s!

xxxo

2 Responses to “You’re So Vain: Too Dolly”

  1. Jeeda August 31, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Love how this look turned out!! I wish I had the know how (and the patience) to do a dramatic eye…I would look a straight fool:) Followin’ bloglovin’.
    http://www.swoonblog.com
    And thanks for stopping by and the lovely comment…stop back thru soon;)

    • PinkPantiesandLeopardLipstick September 1, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

      Haha! Patience is DEF needed, but I was persistent! I’m following you on Bloglovin’ as well… LOVE how you put things together!

      Thanks for the comment!

      xxxo

Leave a Reply

