My SUPER Small… YSL Cosmetics Collection

29 Aug

I’ve always been a major fan of Yves Saint Laurent, the high end couture line, but being WAYYYYY out of my tax bracket, I had no choice but to maintain that love from a far… really far.

Enter the cosmetic line.  I figured if I couldn’t rock the clothes (just yet) its only right I rock the more affordable (yet still expensive) make-up.  It would be the perfect place begin a a lil’ YSL collection.

When I saw the ad for the following two lip colors last year, I knew I had to have them. The packaging was luxurious and the collection was limited edition… not to mention they’re pink… my weakness!

Gloss Pur (Pure Lip Gloss) in “4”
Fard A Levres Rouge Pur (Pure Lipstick) in “Rose Tropical” (Tropical Pink)

Ok, lets start with the packaging…. LOVE IT!  So LUXE.    The lip gloss is a bright pink and its pretty pigmented.  The lighter your lips, the more color you’ll see of course, but even on my medium skin, I can see a good bit of color.  I personally didn’t purchase this to wear alone, rather to layer with the lipstick, but for a day when I want to keep it simple, this would be perfect.  Oh and it smells like watermelon!

Now on to the lippie.  Gorg shade of bumblegum pink!  Super bright and can be compared to MAC’s limited edition “Candy Yum Yum,” (I’ll do a comparison post later).  The color is not for the meek, but can totally be toned down with a darker lip pencil and lip gloss.

Lipstick and gloss swatched, then the mix of the two.  As you can see, the lippie is totally toned down with the gloss over it.

Now let me vent out a fustration!  A.S. Cooper was the only retailer in Bermuda that carried the YSL line and have now pulled it!  So this is as far as I’ve been able to get in my collection… two friggin products!  Not impressed AT ALL.  Now I have to wait until I travel to pick up the items I want and pay… tax!  As if it isn’t expensive enough! SMH

I LOVE this pic… I’m really considering printing and framing it…




So I think a nice lil pair of Tribute Sandals will be the next addition to my collection… yea right! lol  A girl can dream…

I WILL get them, no doubt, but in the mean time I think I’ll settle for the highly raved “Touche Eclat” concealer!

BANG!

Lata Lovah’s!

xxxo

One Response to “My SUPER Small… YSL Cosmetics Collection”

  1. ceciliaa July 30, 2012 at 6:37 am #

    Please compare Tropical Rose with Candy Yum Yum 🙂

Leave a Reply

