Limited Addiction: Dior Mitza Fall 2011 & My Dior Cosmetics Collection

28 Sep

Mitzah Bricard

Illusion d’Ombre Long Wear Luminous Eyeshadow Palette

Introducing the Dior Mitzah Collection, inspired by Mitzah Bricard, the audacious and glamorous muse to Christian Dior.  Born in Paris to an English mother and Austrian father, Mitzah Bricard captured the fascination of Christian Dior at the very beginnings of the house. While she was officially responsible for the Dior hat collection, she played a key role in advising and influencing the couturier on many aspects of the brand, including the creation of the ― New Look.

Known for her love of leopard (she wore a leopard scarf wrapped around her wrist at all times), the color lilac and over-the-top jewelry, it was said that Mitzah could ―turn the ordinary into stylish.

“Ms. Bricard is one of those rare people whose only reason for living is elegance,” Monsieur Dior said of his muse, whose unique extravagance helped inspire many of his designs.

The collection, featuring a limited edition 5-Couleurs Eyeshadow palette stamped in the iconic leopard pattern, two Vernis shades inspired by the same earthy print and a tawny, shimmering brown Diorshow mascara, pays homage to this one-of-a-kind woman.

-Dior

So after reading about Ms. Bricard, I’m totally convinced we would have gotten alone famously, as the love of all things leopard print and red lipstick is clearly the basis of a healthy “sistah-friend” relationship!!

SO of course your girl was stalking the HELL out of the Sephora website, as this collection is exclusive to them and I HAD TO HAVE that leopard palette!  Crazy thing is… I know I’d never use it!  I NEEDED it in my life as a momento… to be apart of the Mitza Movement and be able to say “YES!  Indeed I am one of the few fabulous woman to own this beloved LIMITED EDITION palette that are numbered!”

But alas… it didn’t work out.  Like the coveted Missoni Target collection that sold out in minutes (and no, I didn’t get any of that either) its all gone.  A distant memory that I’ll only be able to replay via online pictures and YouTube videos…

Le bummer…

Oh well.  I didn’t have the $90 to splurge on just ONE product anyway. (Obviously this is my coping mechanism, as if I had the opportunity… it’d be mine.  #Don’tJudgeMe)

So… my Dior Cosmetics collection remains small… two products to be exact. Two COVETED products though… to be more specific!

Dior 5 Color Eyeshadow Palette in Rosy Tan (#754)

Signature Sexy Packaging which comes with a velvet pouch...

5 Beautiful Colors which feature 4 neutrals and 1 sexy pop of pink!

I love that I can get so many looks out of this one palette!  A neutral day look, a neutral day look with a pop of pink, OR a sexy smoky look for example!

As usual, my pics don’t give these colors any justice, but they’re pretty good enough for you to imagine the possibilities…

AND

Dior Skin Shimmer Powder Amber Diamond (#002)

The highlighter of ALL highlighters! Perfect for ALL skintones... and to die for on women of color!

Once again, the swatch doesn't do much justice, but you HAVE to take my word that this is absolutely gorgeous in person!

This highlighter gives the perfect amount of shimmer, especially when the sunlight catches it, yet you don’t look like a discoball of glitter!

One thing I LOVE about both of these palettes are the fact that not only are they compact and travel friendly, but I can also get multiple uses out of them.  Thats something you’ll hear me say quite often… I LOVE a multi-purpose product! ESPECIALLY when its an higher end product, i.e. expensive.

As mentioned, multiple looks can be created with the eye shadow palette, but you can get a few eye looks out of the highlighter as well if you use the colors individually.

So yeah… these are on the expensive side, but I far from regret these purchases as they’re multi-purposed, packed with pigment, and Dior’s not cheap on the product… so I’ll be enjoying them for a long time to come!

xxxo

**LIMITED ADDICTION = Limited Edition**  Basically this is what I’ll be calling this series where I feature “Limited Edition” products that us bloggers MUST HAVE… i.e. Addiction!

Lata Lovah’z

2 Responses to “Limited Addiction: Dior Mitza Fall 2011 & My Dior Cosmetics Collection”

  1. Chung Schomburg October 5, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    I like your blog, what background image do you use?

Leave a Reply

