Limited Addiction: Daphne Guinness Collection {From January 2012}

19 Sep

This is the first glimpse into the palette and colours imagined and created by Daphne Guinness. Daphne is her art. This is part of her discovery and evolution. “This collection is a window into my imagination.” — Daphne Guinness

 

The imagery alone is badass right!  What I was most excited for in this collection though was the blush ombre’s.  I don’t own any, as I missed out on the Spring Colour Forecast Collection which was released back in 2010.  Initially I wanted them all because a. everyone went CRAZY over them and b. well… just look at them!  They’re gorg!

Fortunately, as I’ve mentioned before, I’m past that phase in my collecting where I’m getting stuff just because I want it, rather it has to be a must have… for ME.  With Spring Colour Forecast I wanted all four blush ombre’s, (Azalea Blossom, Ripe Peach, Vintage Grape, and Springshine), but after I saw the swatches, only three worked for me.  Wow 3/4… big cut right, lol.

Anywho, Daphne Guiness only repromoted two of the four anyway, and of the two, one was what didn’t work for me, Azalea Blossom.  While it’s a beautiful color, its just way to light for me, which translates as a waste of money.

After all of that… what I DID pick up was the absolute gorgeous and extremely pigmented Vintage Grape.

Blush Ombre Vintage Grape

Blush Ombre Vintage Grape

MAC Blush Ombre Vintage Grape

Blush ombre’s are described by MAC as, “A powder blush featuring a shade wave of gentle ombre hues. Ultra-fine formula provides the cheeks with flawless, medium-buildable coverage and lightly pearled, natural-looking radiance.”   Basically its three shades of the same color ombred from lightest to darkest.  You can use each color individually (using a smaller brush) or swirl all colors together with your blush brush.  Thats four different possibilities!

On to the swatches…

Blush Ombre Vintage Grape w/Flash

Ummm… do you see the pigmentation!  This is all with just one swipe of my finger! I’ll have this powder forever.  So as you can see, there are literally four different colors in this ombre.

Blush Ombre Vintage Grape w/o Flash

I absolutely friggin love it!!  I will be getting a lot of wear out of it this fall/winter season.  Bring on the vampy looks please!!

P.s. I’m hoping at some point they’ll repromote Ripe Peach and Springshine sometime soon… I’ll be the first in line to scoop them up!

Pink Panties & Leopard Lipstick Rating: A+

Leave a Reply

